Fall of the Berlin Wall: Beethoven’s 9th Symphony

Conductor Laureate Ignat Solzhenitsyn (photo credit: Dario Acosta)

April 7, 2013 at 2:30pm
Fall of the Berlin Wall: Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9
Philadelphia International Festival of the Arts
with The Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia
Ignat Solzhenitsyn, conductor laureate
Layla Claire, soprano
Marietta Simpson, mezzo-soprano
Norman Reinhardt, tenor
Sam Handley, bass-baritone

Meine Wind of Change
Smirnov Epitaph for the Victims of Repression
Beethoven Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125, “Choral”

Under the baton of Conductor Laureate Ignat Solzhenitsyn, we journey to a historic moment in time with a program that commemorates the demolition of the Berlin Wall in 1989, leading to Germany’s reunification.

This concert is co-produced by the Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts as part of PIFA 2013 in collaboration with The Center for Emerging Visual Artists featuring photography by James B. Abbott.

For tickets click here or call Ticket Philadelphia (215) 893-1709.